In 1953, after obtaining a Diploma of Australian Orthoptics (D.A.O.),
Mrs. Alison Lawson practiced orthoptics at the Royal Children’s Hospital, Camperdown, where, two years later she became head of the orthoptic clinic. In 1954, she was invited to be a member of the orthoptic clinic at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney, and later, at the Royal North Shore Medical Centre at St. Leonards. To gain overseas experience, Mrs. Lawson went to England in 1959, and was invited to join the Queen Elizabeth Hospital for Children, London, and later, alternated between that orthoptic clinic, the Royal County Hospital in Surrey, St Lukes Hospital, and Guildford. For some time Mrs. Lawson was also in private practice with several leading ophthalmologists in England.
In 1964, Mrs. Lawson returned to Australia, taking further courses, including that of Tutor Orthoptist, which qualified her to teach and train orthoptists.
Mrs. Lawson accepted the position of head orthoptist with a group of seven eye surgeons in
Parramatta, which she combined with a private practice in Gosford. During this time, she specialised with children who had learning problems and made extensive research into the visual cortex.
In April of 1979, Mrs. Lawson patented a machine known as the Lawson Anti-Suppression Device (LASD), which was used for the treatment of amblyopia.
A treatment for visual dyslexia was developed. This treatment was patented on 11th July 1996 with Griffith Hack & Co. acting as patent attorneys.
The treatment is basically ten treatments of one hour duration, using the LASD with strict home exercises: There are no drugs, coloured glasses or anything other than a totally scientific and medically based treatment.